Happy New Me

Niehard-1091

I hate New Year’s resolutions.  There is so much pressure to be perfect and keep them all year long. I usually don’t make any, but this year I made a few goals for myself.  Goals just sounds more doable to me, so here we go.

1.  Yell less.  This will be a tough one as any parent to small children knows, yelling happens to all of us.  Having three children under the age of 7 running around underfoot would drive any sane person to the brink and on any given day in our house someone is yelling.  I’m not proud of that fact, but my GOAL this year is to minimize it.  To say I will stop yelling all together would be a false promise.  Less is more. That applies to yelling, right?!

2.  Exercise!  What a cliché.  I cringe even typing the word, but it must be done.  I gained and lost 50lbs with each of my pregnancies and lost all the weight slowly. (Yeah breastfeeding!) But now the hard work of toning up is at hand and I hate it.  Tracy Anderson is staring at me now from a stack of exercises ripped from a magazine.  She looks so happy holding those weights and lunging.  Maybe I can do that too.  Maybe.

3.  Focus more on my marriage.  This is a personal one.  Since the baby is a little more mobile and less needy, I can finally breathe for more than a minute without him attached to my leg.  My focus on the children has consumed me for so long, now I’m really missing my husband and our time together.  We’ve been doing way too much reminiscing and not nearly enough new memory making.  This year I hope to add to our bank of moments. (Cheesy, but oh so true.)

4. Eat better food.  We try to eat as much organic, local, clean foods that we can afford.  But there have been days when it’s easier to slide through the drive through (oh, the mother guilt on that one) or pick up a pizza when I’m just too tired to think about cooking.  I’m lucky enough to be married to a chef. (Score!) He is a master in the kitchen, but who wants to come home from work after cooking all day and do more work?  He usually has to suffer through a dinner I’ve made.  I’m getting quite good if I do say so myself.  I have a binder overflowing with recipes to try.  I’ll post a few of the winners here.  Luckily, organic foods are becoming easier to find and much more affordable.  We use a local service called Green BEAN Delivery that brings organic, local produce right to your front door.  It is on the pricey side, but well worth the health benefits of eating food free of pesticides and GMO’s.  I’m even going to jump on the green smoothie bandwagon.  I’ll let you know if that goal sticks.

5. Write. Write. Write. Write. Write. Write. Write. Write. Write. Submit. Wait. Repeat in excruciating detail. Enough said.

What do you think?

