I Know Everything

Photo Credit, David Niblack

Sitting with my daughter at lunch, she asks how God made our hair.  I didn’t have an answer for her.

“How did HE put our bones together?” she asked urgently.

“I don’t know.”

Some sort of magic and miracles, I wanted to say, but she went on.

“I bet he stacked our bones together and then put our skin on.  We were born naked right?  Because we can’t have clothes on in Mommy’s tummy because our clothes gets all slimy.”

She smiled and skipped away, happy with our little exchange.  Moments like these remind me I don’t have all the answers and that’s ok.  My children force me to stop, slow down, listen, question and wonder about all the things around me.  When is the last time you wondered how your hair came to be?  When is the last time you took time to just think about how big and grand everything is and how very small we are?  Whether you believe in a higher power or not, the world is very puzzling and peculiar and magnificent.  We need to put down our electronics for a day and take notice.

As a mother I am scrambling all day.  I don’t have time to stop and sit still with just my thoughts, contemplating my life, my blessings, my reason for being here.  Or do I?

Look around.  Find the wonder.  Just sit and be.

What do you think?

