Magic In Every Box

Cereal is my weakness. I hide boxes of my favorites in the pantry behind the healthy stuff so the kids won’t find it. I want the entire box to myself. I don’t want to share or pass the milk or talk. I like to eat alone and I read the box, but only once because after that it gets boring. Neon colored cereals taste the best; Fruity Pebbles are on par with crack. I can’t stop at one bowl or three. I eat until I feel like I’m going to explode and then, well, I do have some milk left, just a little bit more.

Cap’n Crunch shreds the roof of your mouth. We all know it and even though we are all rational, level-headed adults, we eat them until our mouths go numb from the pain, they are just so good. I know I’m not the only crazy person who does this with cereal.  I’ve talked to friends. I’ve verified.  We all do it.

I just finished a few delicious servings of Cocoa Pebbles, the kind that turns your milk into chocolate magic. It’s a double treat really; you get to eat the cereal, then enjoy cereal flavored milk. Heaven.  If you’ve never heard of Christina Tosi from Momofuku Milk Bar in New York, get yourself to a library pronto and check out her cookbook.  Then make everything in it and recover on the couch for the next week.  Her treats are intense. That woman is a genius.  A couple of my favorites are the Momofuku Milk Bar birthday cake, crack pie (seriously) and her famous cereal milk.  You can visit their website for sample recipes from the book here.

am momofuku cake

Momofuku Milk Bar Birthday Cake, Photo by omgponies2

But if your itching for some cereal inspired fare, here’s Christina’s recipe for Cereal Milk. Yum.

Cereal Milk™

makes 2 and 1/2 cups, serves 4

100 g (2 3/4 cups) cornflakes
825 g (3 3/4 cups) cold milk
30 g (2 tbs tightly packed) light brown sugar
1 g (1/4 tsp) kosher salt

1. Heat the oven to 300°F.

2. Spread the cornflakes on a parchment-lined sheet pan. Bake for 15 minutes, until lightly toasted. Cool completely. Toasting the cornflakes before steeping them deepens the flavor of the milk. Taste your cereal milk™ after you make it. If you want it a little sweeter, don’t be shy; add a little more brown sugar. If you want a more mellow cereal milk™, add a splash of fresh milk and a pinch of salt.

3. Transfer the cooled cornflakes to a large pitcher. Pour the milk into the pitcher and stir vigorously. Let steep for 20 minutes at room temperature.

4. Strain the mixture through a fine-mesh sieve, collecting the milk in a medium bowl. The milk will drain off quickly at first, then become thicker and starchy toward the end of the straining process. Using the back of a ladle (or your hand), wring the milk out of the cornflakes, but do not force the mushy cornflakes through the sieve.

5. Whisk the brown sugar and salt into the milk until fully dissolved. Store in a clean pitcher or glass milk jug, refrigerated, for up to 1 week.

Now go hide from your friends and family and enjoy. You’re welcome.

3 comments

  1. (Laughing) Thank you for sharing your cereal love! I hide boxes of sugar cereal from my kids too, although somehow I never get a chance to eat it when my kids aren’t around. I am new to your blog, and have enjoyed reading it!

What do you think?

