I’m Married To the Chef

I don’t usually follow NaBloPoMo’s prompts, but this one is particularly close to my heart. Would you ever want a personal chef, or do you enjoy cooking your own meals? I just so happen to be married to a chef. You could even say I married my personal chef. He used to cook for me when we were dating. He’d bring home the best scalloped potatoes on the planet and I would devour every cheesy bite. We happily gained weight together before we got engaged, we connected over food. When I got pregnant he graced me with lobster saltimbocca and rich chocolate pots de cremes. I was in heaven. Life was good. By the time the third baby came along, my lobster and chocolate handouts were never to be seen again. Life gets in the way of the best intentions sometimes.

Delicious food is sensual, sharing a good meal together can be a very intimate thing. I’m not talking Mickey Rourke and Kim Basinger in 9 1/2 Weeks kind of intimate. That’s an entirely different blog post! But I will say we bonded over food, trying new flavors and cuisines has always been part of our adventure and if we had more money and time we’d hit every restaurant in the city just because we could. It’s our thing. It’s us.

So to answer the prompt question, yes, I love having a personal chef. Unfortunately, my personal chef also works for other people who really like to eat his food, so I’m forced to share. I always laugh when people ask the same questions when they find out I’m married to a chef. “Does he cook for you all the time?” “You never have to cook? How lucky!” Well, not really. The truth is he has given me a quiet confidence in the kitchen I didn’t know I had. Most weeks we take turns cooking, because honestly who wants to come home from work after cooking all day and do it all over again at home?

People wonder if I’m intimidated cooking for him; he’s been featured on the local news and teaches cooking classes, he caters events, he consults with large, well-known companies, he’s a very talented chef. And I used to be very intimidated, but not anymore. At the end of the day he is still my husband. He never complains about a meal and always gives me honest feedback when I ask for it. He has made me a better cook just by being near me. I watch and learn from him. And yes, I’m very lucky. I married my personal chef. Maybe when the kids are grown and out of the house I’ll find some lobster saltimbocca and chocolate pots de creme waiting for me…

4 comments

  1. Our chefs do enjoy being cooked for and pleased you have confidence to nourish him with your cooking when he gets home. I too hope the lobster and chocolate will return and in the not too distant future 🙂

What do you think?

