The Academic Side of Parenting For the Rest of Us

Welcome September! I can’t wait for the leaves to start changing, cooler weather to blow in, soft, cozy sweaters to lounge around in and of course, pumpkin spice lattes.

And I’m participating in NaBloPoMo again!  I’m excited and focused and looking forward to connecting with so many other talented people.  If you’re a follower of this blog, you know I don’t often follow prescribed themes for the month.  I like to stray.  I’m a rebel.  So instead of focusing on healing, which is this month’s theme, this post is about a fantastic site I found last night.  My daughter is having problems sleeping at night due to school/separation anxiety.  Enter almighty Google and I stumbled upon his little gem.  www.parentingscience.com

Written by Gwen Dewar, Ph.D., the site revolves around evidence-based research on, you guessed it, parenting and kids.  Here’s how she describes her site:

As a biological anthropologist and science writer, I created the Parenting Science website for parents who are interested in the big picture — child-rearing and child development considered from the perspectives of anthropology, evolution, psychology, and neuroscience.

I love her academic approach to parenting, psychology and medicine, all presented in accessible, informative posts.  I was able to calm my nerves about the frequent night wakings after reading this post and this one.

I come away learning something new with each visit to the site.  As a busy parent, that’s a win for me. Have a great week!

What do you think?

