Go Brush Your Teeth

In the spirit of this month’s NaBloPoMo theme of healing, I decided to have some routine dental work done last Tuesday.  Little did I know it would put me out of commission for days.  I have some serious dental anxiety.  I don’t know why.  I just know I leave the dentist’s office feeling like I’ve been mugged.  I’ll spare you the details, but suffice it to say I was miserable.  Think intense, sharp nerve pain that comes and goes at random times, causing me to almost cut off my finger while slicing a fresh peach for my daughter.  Not fun.

This went on for two days before I bravely decided I had to go back and let the dentist address the problem.  My dentist is a lovely man and he did indeed fix the problem.  My pain is almost gone!  I can eat and talk and do laundry and yell at whoever isn’t listening to me again! Yeah!

Now I am healing, my tooth pain and my control over those funny things I have no control over.  On a lighter note, I’ve forced my children to be more vigilant about their oral health, standing over them while they brush, warning them about eating too much candy and cavities and how awful it all is.  I think I’ve successfully scared them to death.  But you know what?  Their teeth are so damn clean.

What do you think?

