Hidden Message In A Book

I was reading The Courage To Write by Ralph Keyes when I stumbled upon this little gem;

image

I love finding surprises and this little note was odd, yet reassuring. And yes I do feel strange at times.

I’m a mother of three trying to find my way. I’ve always been a bit of a loner, going against the grain of what society expects from me.  I’m a homebirthing, homeschooling mother. My choices make some people uncomfortable. My husband and I have had to answer endless questions, steeled ourselves for ignorant retorts, prayed that the people who really mattered would embrace our decisions. At this wonderful time of year, full of hope and blessings, I can say we are completely happy and at peace with all the decisions we’ve made in our life.

Do people think I’m strange? Maybe. I don’t mind.

I’m a mother of three trying to find some semblance of a writing life, while teaching my children it’s ok to be different. Be strange.  Live your life your way.  Seeing this sweet little note made me smile. I’m not the only strange one out there. I’m glad I’m not alone.

2 comments

  1. Kind of related (argh. Okay, maybe not, but this post reminded me of it): I’m planning to go through my bookshelves this month so that, next month, I can participate in Blind Date With a Book. Have you heard of it? The version with which I’m familiar involves wrapping a book in plain paper, simply labelling it with the genre, and leaving it for somebody to find.

    I can’t be the only one who would be excited to stumble upon a new book. 😀

What do you think?

